La Couertoirade is a walled village, founded by the Knights Templars in the 12th century. Hidden away in the barren lands of the Larzac. Its towers and
ramparts are almost intact. When the Templars order was suppressed in the 14th century, their property was transferred to the Knights of St John of Jerusalem,
who further enlarged and strengthened the strongholds.
In 1159, just after the first crusade, the Count of Barcelona, King of Aragon turned over his possessions in Larzac to Élie de Montbrun, the Temple master of Rouergue. The Templars, a religious military order, would henceforth protect these new lands, build strongholds and make them prosper. They turned out to be excellent administrators and developed agriculture and sheep raising, as can be seen from many of the granges, (barns - smallholdings), the former Templar farms, that still dot the countryside.
As everywhere, the village was victim of the rural exodus to the larger towns, fewer people worked the land, but thanks to the quality of its patrimony, the village lives again trough tourism since the second part of the 19th century.
You can contact the village :
By calling the tourist office of La Couvertoirade: (+33)5 65 58 55 59
By sending a Fax: (+33)5 65 62 28 06
By mail :
SERVICE ACCUEIL TOURISME
12230 LA COUVERTOIRADE
Copyright : © 2000 - 2016 Sysnix Consultants Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Revised -- 18 November 2016